Bold Bouffants

posted in: Barnets, Captains, Fashion Week | 0

 

Bouffants were bouncing down the runway this season. In Martine Rose’s S/S/20 men’s collection, the models channelled 80s volume as they strutted down the catwalk infringe and big hair, all wigged out to the max.

 

The New York Times/ Jamie Stoker

 

Hairstylist, Gary Gill, presented us with a series of mismatched wigs that were intentionally secured in a slanted, sloppy fashion. The whimsical rocky vibe caught all our attention. Following in the footsteps of the Met Gala, Martine Rose showed that camp is very much in, and wigs are not something to be shied away from.

 

The New York Times/ Jamie Stoker

 

The retro trend epitomised versatility as Gill gave us everything from chaotic curls, to cropped barnets, and beehive style updos. The makeup by Marina Belfonrose was kept fairly minimal, which only highlighted the oddball wigs even more! The best part was that not one of these wigs tried to conceal the models actual hair. In fact, they often did the opposite and revealed natural barnets underneath.

 

 

View this post on Instagram

Martine Rose Show SS20 Show London Fashion Week @martine_rose Head Designer – Martine Rose #martinerose Big Love & Thanks To Martine, Tamara And All The Team At Martine Rose For Having me. Stylist – Tamara Rothstein @tamararothstein1 Lead Hair – Gary Gill @garygillhair at Streeters @streetersagency Make-Up – Marina Belfonrose @marinabelfonrose A Big Thanks To My Team Production – Rob Czlapka @rcnq First Assistant – Tom Wright @tomwrighthair Second Assistant – Rebecca Chang @iam_thechang Alex Moon @a.m_album Jamie Richards @jamiedoeshair17 Sabrina Lefebrve @sabrinalefebvre_hair Rom Sartipi @romsartipi Meekung Kim @mee.hair.makeup Waka Adachi  @wakaadachi Attila Kenyeres @attilakenyeres Linnea Nordberg @linneanordberg Anastasia Milyaeva @anastasia_nasty_s Mike Mahoney @mikemahoney1 Tasos Constantinou @tasoshair Katsuya Kachi @kachikatsuya #garygill #garygillhair #sessionstylist #streeters #streeterslondon #sessionhair #hairdresser #hairstylist #hair #texture #sessionstylist #haircuts #cuts #wigs #london #londonmens #londonmensfashionweek #toomuchisneverenough #garygillphoto

A post shared by GARY GILL (@garygillhair) on

Backstage at Martine Rose SS20 Photography Christina Fragkou

 

 

While Kiko Kostadinov opted for Regency-era styled wigs courtesy of Kiyoka Odo, Paria Farzaneh, framed her models features with smooth, raven coloured wigs that were firmly on trend, styled in a lob cut and bangs.

 

One thing that all these looks had in common was synthetic volume. So, want to keep on trend this season? See below a couple of go-to products that are sure to take your hair to new heights:

 

  • Dyson Airwrap Styler: Opt for the 30mm barrels to create voluminous curls or waves! (SLAY TIP: simply use your go to hairspray to complete the look)
  • Bumble and Bumble Thickening Spray: This top-selling pre-styler spray is sure to give you lasting lift for all occasions! (SLAY TIP: spray onto damp hair and then blowdry the hair from underneath to create lasting volume)

 

As long as you think with the philosophy of more is more then you will be sure to emulate the bouncy bouffant trend perfectly!

 

 

WRITTEN BY LIV LEFTWICH